mommy4autism

Just another WordPress.com site

Mercies in Disguise

on July 7, 2011

There is a song that I came across recently when a dear friend made me a CD to help me deal with a particularly rough time (well, TIMES). It’s a song about God’s blessings and mercies, and while I realize that not all my readers may be Christian, I have to post the lyrics to this song, because it is bringing me hope daily. It also makes me cry, but almost in relief because I feel like someone out there, bigger than me, knows how I feel.

If you are a special needs parent or friend, you know that these children are so beautiful to us, and the world can be so harsh at times, and yet, these children have SO much to teach us. Things that we never, ever thought we’d learn…feelings we never thought we’d feel…sorrow and joy and love we never dreamed of, all of which are so huge it is indescribable.

My son teaches me lessons. Daily. I believe this is exactly what God intended for my family, even though we’ve been through a lot, and even when one more thing happens that I just don’t think I can take anymore. I wanted to share this song with you (link to the video is at the bottom), because I believe in its lesson, even though it makes me cry to hear it:

 

Blessings, by Laura Story

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace; Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity; We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering

All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops? What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?

We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear, We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love as if every promise from Your Word is not enough

And all the while You hear each desperate plea, and long that we’d have faith to believe

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops? What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near?

And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?

When friends betray us, when darkness seems to win
We know the pain reminds this heart that this is not, this is not our home
It’s not our home

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops? What if Your healing comes through tears?
And what if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if my greatest disappointments, or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy?

And what if trials of this life – The rain, the storms, the hardest nights – are Your mercies in disguise?

YouTube video: http://youtu.be/1CSVqHcdhXQ

Leave a Reply

