mommy4autism

Just another WordPress.com site

An Introduction

on May 10, 2011

Hi Friends,

My name is Kristi, and I live a very full life. I am a wife, a mother of a precious 4-year-old autistic son, and a stepmother to a 13-year-old daughter.

In addition to my familial duties, I have 3 jobs; I work as the Director of finance & customer service for a small family business, I am a District Manager with Arbonne International (a part time skin care business of my own), and I sing “on the side.”

In addition to my jobs and everything else, I do my best to help my son succeed and learn new things. I balance the family accounting & budget and I try to keep things clean around the house (though that is one of the first things to suffer when I run out of time). I guess you could say I am a stay-at-home working mother. Yeah, I know, I’m nuts. But on to my point!

Like many others before me, and many who will follow, I have trials, tribulations and triumphs in my walk with my son’s Autism Spectrum Disorder. I have seen other Mommy bloggers around the internet, and God just sort of put it on my heart to get out here and start my own blog to record our family’s journey through Autism for a few different reasons:

This blog is a place to uplift others with our triumphs, to empathize with many during our trials, to cry with some during our setbacks, and to provide a little healing humor when it all just gets too serious. From time to time, I also hope to post helpful hints, articles, and coupons for Special Needs families like us.

Now that all that has been said, let me tell you a little bit about my son:DSC08656.JPG

Alexander is a 4 year old boy with Autism and a Sensory Processing Disorder. Alex is an amazing runner; he is strong, and he has an impressive noun vocabulary. He is already a little techie whiz kid on the Ipad, but he can’t initiate much verbal conversation, or put sentences together, except to tell you what it is he wants (usually to eat or snack). He’s a memorizer and can mimic sounds like a pro – he’s great at sounding like a train! He can also recite things from memory, often after hearing them just once. Sometimes we use pictures (PECS) to help him communicate.

Alex is a happy little boy most of the time, but he doesn’t understand his own strength, so when his legs and arms need more sensory input, he tends to hit and kick (which makes social situations very difficult). Sometimes he throws himself around and it looks like a tantrum, but often, it’s not…he simply cannot communicate what he needs or wants or if he’s hurting, so he responds physically. Alex has a hard time sitting still, and he often will not recognize danger. Because of these behaviors, it is not easy to find care for Alex. However, he has learned to gives hugs and kisses and finally calls members of his family by name (this is a huge blessing to us). He gets to go into a special Kindergarten program in the Fall, which we are all very excited for, because Alex adores school!

I look forward to using this blog as a place to both advocate for and reach out to other families with Autistic children. I’m new at this, so please forgive any quirks I might have as a blossoming blogger!

❤ Kristi

2 responses to “An Introduction

  1. Sabrina says:

    I look forward to following your Autism adventures with Alex!

  2. Mindy says:

    Welcome to the blogging world! This was a great read, thanks for sharing. We love Alex!

Leave a Reply

